Appeals Council


The Appeals Council is the body for appeals against the decisions of the Management Board regarding assessment and accreditation decisions.

The Appeals Council is composed of five members, appointed by the Board of Trustees from among personalities with relevant professional experience, without a permanent connection with any Portuguese higher education institution. Some of its members must have experience in similar foreign bodies.

The members of the Appeals Council are the following:


  • Juiz Conselheiro Manuel Fernando dos Santos Serra (President)
  • Professor Doutor João Alcindo Pereira Martins e Silva
  • Dra. Andrée Sursock
  • Dr. Padraig Walsh
  • Professor Doutor Diamantino Freitas Gomes Durão